San Francisco Council Patch, (c 1950)
Boy Scouts of America, San Francisco Bay Area Council • 1001 Davis Street, San Leandro, CA 94577-1514, (510) 577-9000
San Francisco Bay Area Council History
Home.Oakland Area Council.San Francisco Council.San Francisco Bay Area Council.Order of the Arrow.Miscellaneous.About Us / Comments.
Los Mochos Symbol, Oakland Area Council (1945 - Present)
Camp Loomer Symbol, Oakland Area Council (1957 - 1973)
Wente Scout Reservation Symbol, Oakland Area Council (1959 - Present)
Camp Dimond-O Symbol, Oakland Area Council (1926 - 1978)
Camp Dimond Symbol, Oakland Area Council (1919 - 1949)
San Francisco Training Camp symbol, San Francisco Council (1917 - 1924)
Camp Moore symbol, San Francisco Council (1938 - 1951)
Camp Lilienthal Symbol (Fairfax location), San Francisco Council (1928 - 1973)
Camp Royaneh symbol, San Francisco Council (1925 - Present)
Camp Lilenthal Symbol, San Francisco Council (1919-1925)
Camp Lilienthal (Stern Grove location) Symbol, San Francisco Council (1919 - 1925)
San Francisco Council
Council Districts
1917 - 1964
Silver Beaver Recipients
Council Offices
Boy Scouts of America, San Francisco Bay Area Council • 1001 Davis Street, San Leandro, CA 94577-1514, (510) 577-9000

1918 District Organization:

District 1 - East of Buchannan st., South of Chestnut, north of Market

District 2 - West of Buchannan st., East of Arguello blvd, South of Chestnut, North of seventeenth st.

District 3 - Presidio District, West of Arguello blvd

District 4 - sunset distict, west of Stanyan street

District 5 - Mission district, west of valencia, south of seventeenth, North of Ocean

District 6 - Mission and Protero, south of market, east of valencia,

District 7 - Pennisula District, San Mateo, Hillsbourough, Burlingame, Lomita park



1931 District Organization

District 7 of the SF Council was absorbed into the San Mateo Council and Daly City was transferred from the San Mateo Council to the San Francisco council.



1940 District Organization

Eastern Section:

   Portsmouth District (Nob Hill, Civic Center, North Beach & China Town neighborhoods)

  Old Town District (Seals Park, Potrero and Rincon Hill neighborhoods)

  McLaren Park District (Amazon, Bernal Heights, Bayview/Hunters point, Mclaren neighborhoods)

  Suburban District (Colma, Daly City, Guadalupe neighborhoods)

Central Section:

  Golden Gate District (Fine Arts, Marina, Layfayette, Hamilton, Laurren Hill neighborhoods)

  Buena Vista District (University, Alamo, Ashbury, Duboce neighborhoods)

  Twin Peaks District (Armory, Noe Valley, Eureka Valley, Msn Park neighborhoods)

  Balboa District (Castro, Sunnyside, Glen Park, Mt Vernon neighborhoods)

Western Section:

  Richmond District (Fort Miley, Lincoln Park, Sea Cliff, Anza neighborhoods)

  Arguello District (Mt Lake, Funston, Presideo Terrace, Jordan Park neighborhoods)

  Sunset District (La Playa, Chalet, Monte De Oro Kezar neighborhoods)

  Lake Merced District (Parkside, West Portal, Ingleside, Miramar, St Francis Wood neighborhoods)



1946 District Organization - “Section” was obsoleted and districts merged


From October of 1946 until January of 1947, the San Francisco Districts were renamed the San Francisco Range Ranchos for a western theme



1951 - 1958  District Organization



1960’s District Organization until merger with Oakland Area Council in 1964