San Francisco Council Patch, (c 1950) San Francisco Bay Area Council History B S A B S A Los Mochos Symbol, Oakland Area Council (1945 - Present) Camp Loomer Symbol, Oakland Area Council (1957 - 1973) TC San Francisco Training Camp symbol, San Francisco Council (1917 - 1924) Camp Moore symbol, San Francisco Council (1938 - 1951) Camp Lilienthal Symbol (Fairfax location), San Francisco Council (1928 - 1973) Camp Royaneh symbol, San Francisco Council (1925 - Present) Camp Lilienthal (Stern Grove location) Symbol, San Francisco Council (1919 - 1925) Boy Scouts of America, San Francisco Bay Area Council • 1001 Davis Street, San Leandro, CA 94577-1514, (510) 577-9000  |  Contact Webmaster San Francisco Council Silver Buffalo Recipients 1926 - 1964

*  This individual is also a recipient of the Silver Beaver award

# This individual is also a recipient of the Silver Beaver (1945), the Silver Antelope (1949) and the Distinguished Service Award (1958).

Silver Beaver Recipients

The Silver Buffalo award is the highest award that can be given by the National Boy Scouts of America.  This honor has been bestowed upon approximately 675 recipients since the award was first established in 1926.  

The first Silver Buffalo Award was conferred upon Robert Baden-Powell, founder of the Scouting movement and Chief Scout of the World.   The second went to the Unknown Scout who inspired William D. Boyce to form the Boy Scouts of America and the third to William D. Boyce himself.  During the first presentation in 1926, twenty-two recipients were presented the award in a specific order determined by Chief Scout Executive James E. West. Since then, the awards have been presented on an annual basis in alphabetical order.

For fifty years the Silver Buffalo was awarded only to men until LaVern Parmley became the first woman to receive the honor in 1976. The award consists of a silver buffalo suspended from a red and white ribbon worn around the neck.

Between 1926 and 1964, 6 members of the San Francisco Council were awarded the Silver Buffalo.  Below is the list of San Francisco Council members that have received the award.